Saying goodbye to an old friend

With a taste in cars that has no boundaries and limited space to store them, there comes a point in almost all of our lives that we face the difficult decision of having to sell a member of our fleet. At 22, I’ve already had to do this five times, and it never gets any easier. Like all automotive enthusiasts, I begin to think about my vehicles as members of my family, and it’s really hard to cut them loose.

During Thanksgiving break, my wife and I had a conversation about replacing her 2009 V6 Mustang with something newer that could weather the winter months of Columbia. To help offset the cost, I knew that we would have to sell one of my three cars in addition to her Mustang. The unfortunate outcast was my track-prepped 1990 Taurus SHO that I had acquired only four months earlier.

I had grown very fond of SHOs after the my 1992 model that I wrote about previously, but was never satisfied with the exterior appearance of the vehicle. The car’s rust was worse than I had originally thought, the the cost to repair it in addition to paint was money I simply didn’t have. As a result, I sold my ’92 for $2,500 and picked up this rust-free 1990 model for only a grand more.

90 SHO

With beautiful burgundy paint that looked nearly identical to my Riviera, the two cars looked great together under the car port. Best of all, this was no ordinary SHO. It had spent its previous life at many race courses and autocross events, and most of the suspension setup was still in place. That was my immediate draw to the car, as my two Buicks left a lot to be desired when it came to handling. This SHO was equipped with 13″ Wilwood brakes, 24/26mm sway bars, Eibach lowering springs, aluminum subframe bushings, subframe connectors and Ingalls adjustable rear control arms. With extremely light 17×8 Team Dynamics Wheels and Cooper RS3-A sticky rubber to top things off, this SHO stuck to the asphalt like glue and was a blast to drive on Columbia’s many backroads.

SHOtire

Taurus SHO

The engine was mostly untouched, but the car did feature an aftermarket high-flow y-pipe and Borla stainless steel exhaust system.The original black interior was in near-mint shape for a car that was approaching its 25th birthday, and the paint looked very nice as well. However, when the same seller I purchased the car from messaged me on Facebook and told me that he was missing his SHO, I knew that it would be the one to go.

As I helped him load the SHO onto his car-hauler, I started to question if I was making the right decision. I knew that it would be extremely hard to ever find another car that handles nearly as well for such a low budget build, but I couldn’t pass up the deal. As sad as it may be, it also leaves me excited for the future ahead. Now I can say that I’ve experienced the SHO platform to its fullest extent, and it’s now time to move on to something else. What that might be exactly, you’ll just have to wait and find out.

SHO

goodbye

Leave a Reply

