Korean War photographer Norman Strickbine

Image

In my History of American Journalism class, I am assigned to interview a person 65 years or older about how the media has evolved throughout his or her lifetime and how its affected them in both positive and negative ways.

I chose to interview Korean War veteran Norman Strickbine for my oral history project because of his vast knowledge and experience in the field of media. Although Strickbine is not technically related to me, I’ve called him Uncle Norm for as long as I can remember. He’s like family to me, and I could not think of a single person in my life that would be better suited for this project.

Strickbine was born in 1930 and served in the military during the Korean War. He attended Army photo school and was a combat photographer in the field. Many years after the war ended, Strickbine helped compile stories from Korean War veterans and published two books: Faces of War: Korean Vignettes and Faces of War: Red Dragon. Coupled with Strickbine’s photography, the two books provide an inside look into one of the biggest events in U.S. history.

With Strickbine’s war reporting experience and knowledge, it will be extremely interesting to learn about how he believes the media has evolved throughout his lifetime and how it’s changed since he was in the field. Also, I cant help but wonder how the Korean War would have been covered if Strickbine and other photographers and reporters during that time period had access to today’s technology. It’s going to be an exciting project, and I can’t wait to begin!

 

 

Leave a Reply

