The value of Twitter in the newsroom

I’ll be honest with you, I’m not very savvy on social media websites. I’m a huge fan of Facebook, but I never had the desire to complicate things by signing up for Twitter, Instagram, Vine, Tumblr or LinkedIn. 

In fact, I didn’t even have a Twitter account until it became mandatory during J2150. I just didn’t see the need for another social media venue in my life. However, after reading this article about how journalists can use Twitter to aid their reporting, I decided to give it another shot. 

After sitting down for an hour and learning the website, I can now say that I’ve conquered my fear of Twitter. It’s amazing how you can use the website to find sources, engage followers and gather the public’s reaction to a story or issue.

I definitely plan to use it more in the future as a reporting tool, and I encourage other journalists to as well. It’s a very valuable resource, and it can make your life as a reporter a lot easier in the process. 

http://www.poynter.org/how-tos/digital-strategies/146345/10-ways-journalists-can-use-twitter-before-during-and-after-reporting-a-story/

Leave a Reply

