My journey into the world of multimedia

Last year, I finally decided I wanted to become an automotive journalist. Therefore, I decided it would be best to enroll in the MU School of Journalism’s print and digital sequence and hone my skills as a writer. 

As a result, I wasn’t really expecting to learn very much in multimedia journalism. I had already made up my mind that I wanted to be a writer, so why did I have to learn photography, audio and video? 

I decided to come in with an open mind and absorb as much information as I could. As the year progressed, I couldn’t believe how much fun I was having with each assignment. Each project required an incredible amount of time and effort, but once completed I felt like I had just painted the Mona Lisa. I was so proud of my work, and was always excited to email copies of my projects to my close friends and family.

After taking this class, I have gained a new appreciation for multimedia and believe I’ve truly grown as a journalist. I now feel comfortable telling a story across a variety of different platforms, which is something I couldn’t say before this semester.

I’m grateful for all I have learned and believe the multimedia experience I have gained has definitely helped me become a more well-rounded journalist. This summer, I plan to experiment with both video and photography when writing automotive features and reviews in my free time. These skills will definitely be valuable as I continue my pursuit to become an automotive journalist. 

Leave a Reply

