Expanding high school curriculums

Throughout elementary and high school, students are forced to take classes in mathematics, science, history, English, and art. 

Supposedly, these curriculums are designed to ensure students receive a well-balanced education and give them the information they need to determine their future career paths. However, the curriculum seems to suggest the only available jobs in the world are math teachers, engineers, scientists, doctors, historians, English teachers and artists.

I attended a small school in Thayer, Mo., with barely 200 students in the entire high school and 55 in my graduating class. Growing up, I always had a problem with my school’s course offerings. It was always the same subjects every year.

To be honest, I didn’t know I wanted to be a journalist until my senior year of high school. My entire high school career was plagued with indecisiveness as I changed my future career plans every six months.

While it would be easy to say nobody truly knows what they want to do until they get to college, I believe this fallacy is used to defend limited high school curriculums. My school never offered a single journalism class from kindergarten throughout my senior year. If you didn’t like math or science, you were in for a long ride. 

If my high school would have offered journalism classes, I could have discovered my future career much sooner. I’m sure this is the case with many other small schools as well.

Less covered fields such as journalism, accounting, economics and business need to be taken more seriously by high schools. Courses need to be offered in these subjects to allow students the opportunity to explore fields outside science and mathematics. 

Sadly, a school’s decision to restrict course offerings isn’t helping students become more well-rounded. It’s only limiting their learning capacity and restricting their career search to a certain number of fields. 

 

Leave a Reply

