My journalism experience

When I first decided to come to MU, I wanted to be a sports broadcaster. I loved NBA basketball and it was my dream to one day be the play-by-play announcer for my beloved Phoenix Suns. With one of the best journalism schools in the country, I knew MU was the right school to help me chase my lifelong dream. 

Throughout my first semester, I joined MUTV and KCOU and covered different sporting events across campus. Surprisingly, I enjoyed writing web stories and soon found my niche as a sportswriter. I struggled learning the technology required to create video packages, and I was much more comfortable and efficient as a writer. 

Toward the end of the first semester, I started to lose interest in covering sports and decided to change career paths. It seemed like every male on campus wanted to be ESPN’s next Stuart Scott, and the field was far too overcrowded for me. The only sport I truly loved was basketball, and it seemed extremely unlikely I would one day obtain my dream job as an NBA announcer– where 90 percent of them are retired NBA players.

As passionate as I was about basketball, it paled in comparison to my love for automobiles. Growing up, I spent more time reading Motor Trend and Car and Driver than most of my school books. Although I was a little discouraged to leave sports behind, I knew without a doubt that automotive journalism was the right field for me.

Last semester, I decided to enroll in the print and digital sequence to help me become a better writer. I’ve very grateful for all of the wonderful things I’ve learned in J2150, especially photography. As an automotive journalist, I need to learn how to photograph cars in addition to writing. My goal is to be a well-rounded journalist that can tell automotive stories across all platforms. 

After I graduate from MU in 2015, I plan to attend Coventry University in England to pursue my master’s degree in automotive journalism. While at Coventry, I will travel throughout England to cover various auto shows and construct my very own automotive magazine along the way. Although 2015 seems distant, I’m very excited about my future and can’t wait to get started. 

Leave a Reply

